Tags

,

It took me most of the day to figure out how to get my background the way I wanted it, but I got it done! Unfortunately I spent a lot of time fixing it so it looked really awesome on my computer screen, forgetting that I have a fancy pants newer, wide screen monitor, so I don’t think it will look quite as awesome on other monitors. Oh well- I’m still new to this whole blog-designing business. Next time I’ll get it right. :P

Well, I didn’t manage to get breakfast eaten this morning, mostly because I didn’t manage to get up in time to eat breakfast. oops. Though, I will contend it wasn’t my fault!

Last night, Yngve and I went to bed a lot later than usual- I was futzing around working on my blog background, and Yngve was probably playing some extremely nerdy computer game of some kind  surfing the web. Anyway, so it was close to 1am before I finally realized the time and got my sleepy ass to bed. Shortly after brushing our teeth and hopping into bed, sometime right after we turned out the lights and rolled over- we heard someone screaming. Not like, good screaming, you know, but like super pissed off screaming. At first, we snickered a little and said “looks like someone is in trouble.” And of course, being totally nosy, we strained our ears to listen. I don’t know why I bothered trying to listen, because the woman was a.) screaming, which can be difficult to understand anyway b.) screaming in extremely thick Trøndersk, the local dialect, which I’m only just beginning to understand. I was able to pick out a word or two, but only dialect curse words I’ve picked up, nothing as far as knowing what the hell she was screaming about.

Yngve however, was able to translate a few words here and there- mostly things along the lines of “horny bastards” “asshole” and a few other choice insults. However, suddenly the screams went from angry screaming to like… distressed screaming. Like the seems like she was being hurt kind of screams. So, being that I didn’t want to be one of those apathetic assholes who just ignores domestic violence when it’s happening… I made Yngve put his clothes on and go see what the hell was going on.

So Yngve goes outside and looks around to see whats happening (while I watch from the window) and comes back inside. Turns out, its a lady in the building that connects with ours- and shes not arguing with anyone… that is to say, there’s nobody there. Yngve said it seemed to him she was either having an INSANE monologue or she was yelling at someone over the phone.

Uhm… weird.

So Yngve and I ended up staying awake even longer, listening to this crazy woman scream hysterically at herself or the person on the phone. We ended up laughing pretty hard making up scenarios over who/what she was screaming over. Eventually we fell asleep, but she was still screaming…

Fast forward to like 3:30am, I woke up because I had to pee… and she was STILL going at it. I have no idea how she didn’t go hoarse or have a freaking aneurysm or something from all that screaming.

So when my alarm went off at 7:30 this morning, I sort of rolled over and turned it off. Then I woke up at 11:30. whoops.

Seriously, if she’s at it again tonight, we’re gonna have to call the police. That was just weird. Kind of funny, but weird. The joys of living in an apartment.

Anyway, so I didn’t eat breakfast. Unless you count having one of those apple-cinnamon fruit bars while standing in front of the fridge looking for something to eat for lunch as breakfast.

Oh yeah, and since calories still count even when you’re eating something standing in front of the fridge looking for something to eat… that’s 192 calories to start me off.

LUNCH

I was feeling a little bored with eating sandwiches, and since I spied a bunch of romaine lettuce that I forgot to turn into salad with pizza the other night, I decided to make a big salad for lunch. I made a really simple salad dressing with 1 tablespoon of white wine vinegar, 1 tsp dijon mustard, 2 tsp olive oil, 1 tsp soy sauce, a little dash of garlic powder, some dried oregano, dried parsley, and I ripped off a little bit of fresh thyme from a bunch that I bought earlier in the week. I  thinned it with a little water and set it aside while I made my salad.

For the salad, I just threw in whatever I had in the fridge that I felt like chopping up. Half a head of romaine lettuce, a handful of arugula, some cucumber, radish, about an ounce of deli ham chopped up, and about an ounce of some of that extra mature cheddar I used in last nights mac and cheese grated up. (which, by the way was awesome in the salad, just kind of sucked in the mac and cheese)

I threw it all in a big bowl, dumped my impromptu salad dressing on top, tossed, and since I wanted it to look a little nicer for presentations sake, I put it into ANOTHER bowl for a pretty picture. If I wasn’t taking a picture I’d just have eaten it out of the mixing bowl to save washing up. I hate doing dishes.

My big salad, including the dressing, made for: 267 calories

 DINNER

Dinner was sesame crusted salmon, adapted from a cooking light recipe. I didn’t have any oranges, so it was just sesame seeds and sesame oil- but I marinated the salmon fillets in a little soy sauce before coating them in the sesame seeds. The cous-cous portion of this was kind of blah- but maybe it might have been better if it had the little bit of orange juice in it. I put the fish a little too close to the broiler, so my sesame seeds got a little burned- if you decide to try this recipe, make sure you’re careful with that.  I served the salmon with some great spinach on the side. The recipe came from the WW cookbook, but here’s how I would do it again because I think their method in this recipe is sort of ass-backwards:

The recipe wants you to steam the spinach first, then cool it, squeeze out the moisture and sautee it in the oil with garlic, ginger and some red chili flakes. I found that just overcooked the spinach. If I was making it again, I’d heat up the 2 teaspoons of sesame oil, add the minced garlic clove, chili flakes and 2 tsp of minced ginger- cook for like 30 seconds, then add freshly washed spinach. The moisture on the spinach leaves would help steam and wilt it anyway. Then add a tablespoon of soy sauce and sprinkle with sesame seeds. Done. Then I wouldn’t have to wash the stupid steamer basket. I wish I had done it that way to begin with. :P

Look at me being all chefy with my cous cous.

Dinner totals:

Salmon and 1 cup of cous cous: 446 calories

Spicy Sesame Spinach: 91 calories

TOTAL: 537

Yngve and I tend to watch movies after dinner- and I ended up scarfing 3 of those apple-cinnamon things while watching Iron Man 2… yeah, so this is why I don’t keep snacks around the house- I have NO self control. I’m worse than a 3 year old.

Three of those fruit bars adds up to 576 calories… ouch. Good thing I didn’t eat breakfast this morning, eh?

So that brings my entire daily total to 1573, 22 calories over my “goal.” Like I said, I don’t stress out and have a total breakdown if I’m over a little. I was under yesterday- so far everything seems to even out. I’ve consistently lost about 2 pounds a week since I’ve been doing this. I’m pretty sure that’s healthy weight loss, and I’ve been able to stick with it, which is important.

Anyway, tomorrow I’m definitely going to make something interesting for breakfast, and we’re having vegetarian lasagna for dinner. (Groans from Yngve, who is never excited about our vegetarian dinners.)

Hope everyone likes my new background! See you tomorrow!

