Tags

, , ,

Well, I’ve just finished being subjected to watching Iron Man with Yngve, so I’ll run down with what I ate today. Also, I’ve been working on a new layout for this blog, hopefully I’ll finish it soon and get it up. I’m teaching myself photoshop, which I’ve never used before- it isn’t quite as easy as I thought it would be, but I’m picking it up quickly. I’m looking forward to having my blog look a little nicer and fit my personality a little more, especially if I’m going to get back into the swing of blogging again.

Right-o, so down to business.

BREAKFAST

I told a friend of mine today that I like doing these “What I Ate” blog posts purely because it’s making me bit slightly more creative than usual- I don’t want the whole world to know how boring I truly am. Anyway so breakfast was fairly straightforward this morning- we had a couple soft-boiled eggs each, toast, and yogurt. As with soup, there is something immensely satisfying about dunking pieces of toast into soft boiled eggs. Sooooooooo yummy- and I’m glad salmonella isn’t an issue in Norway so I can have my eggs nice and runny, just the way I like them.

So, the tally for breakfast:

2 soft boiled eggs: 156

2 tsp butter: 67

1 slice WW honey wheat bread, with 2 tsp flora light: 102

1 container fat and sugar free raspberry yogurt: 51

TOTAL:  376

Not bad. Another breakfast easy to prepare in the morning. Soft boiled eggs don’t take long at all, and neither does toast. :)

LUNCH

Lunch was almost a repeat of yesterday. I had the exact same butternut squash soup, but I decided to have it with a sandwich instead of just two slices of toast.

I adore the Nordic open-faced sandwich. Two slices of bread just aren’t necessary, and only serve to cover up the prettily arranged elements of your sandwich. I toasted a slice of bread (I really love toast if you couldn’t already tell) and slathered it with a heaping tablespoon of Dijon mustard. Then I piled on about 1/4 cup of baby arugula, 1 oz. of roast beef and two thick slices of tomato seasoned with salt and lots of cracked black pepper. It went REALLY nicely with the soup.

Lunch Tally:

1.5 cups Butternut Squash Soup: 192

2 Tbs Light Sour Cream: 40 
My open faced roast beef sandwich: 139

TOTAL: 371

DINNER

Dinner tonight was great. I took some inspiration from Eating Well in their recipe for green pizza. Yngve was a little skeptical when I told him what we were having, but he thought it was pretty darn good, too.

I changed some things around, and used recipes from a couple different sources for this one. First of all, I used the WW whole wheat pizza dough recipe as the base- and I also used the WW recipe for pesto.

I loooooooove making pizza dough. Well, I love making any bread at all, which is why I’m totally willing to make my own bread instead of buying it. Not only can I control how much I make- I control what goes in it. I’m not restricted to whatever the supermarket has. So I love it when I get the chance to make dough twice in one week. I dunno what it is about it- I guess its the kneading that I find pretty zen and relaxing.

A few dough-tips- when you’re using a recipe, always mix the dry ingredients together in a separate bowl and never dump all the dry ingredients into the wet all at once. I start with about 2/3 of the flour and stir that together with the wet ingredients using a spoon. If the mixture seems too wet, I add a little more until it seems ok. Remember, you can always add more, but you cannot take away. How much or how little flour you end up needing for a recipe can vary depending on the level of moisture in the air and in your flour. Anyway, I stir until the dough is starting to form a ball around the spoon, then I lightly flour my work bench and dump the dough out onto it- then it’s on to kneading.

I knead white breads for a good 10 minutes or so, and heavier breads- like whole wheat- for longer. I find it takes a bit more time to develop the gluten in whole wheat varieties, so give them a little more love.

Here’s my pizza dough, kneaded and formed into a ball, ready to rise. (I always just throw it back into the same bowl I mixed in- no need to clean it out first. ) I just spray the bowl and the top of the dough with some non-stick spray, cover the bowl with a damp cloth, and put it into my oven, which I’ve had on the lowest setting for just a couple minutes. The oven shouldn’t be too warm- you should be able to touch the racks and sides of the oven without burning yourself. I set my oven to 50 degrees Celsius, about 122 Fahrenheit, for 5ish minutes.

 While my dough was rising I made pesto. OMG… this stuff is friggin awesome. I seriously had to keep myself from eating it with a spoon. Garlic, basil, Parmesan…. so yummy. Another weight watchers recipe- I’m telling you, go buy this book. It should keep in the fridge for 3 weeks- and on a side note, I find it extremely hilarious that I’ve put homemade pesto in a jar that once contained really crappy store bought pesto. :P

So after an hourish or so, my dough had finished rising and had doubled in size

 

Then I punched it down, rolled it quite thin on a nonstick Teflon mat and spread about 3 tablespoons of the pesto on the dough.

Earlier I had boiled some broccoli in lightly salted water until it was just tender, then I threw in some arugula and let that boil for just a moment. I rinsed it under cold water to stop it cooking, then I chopped it up a bit smaller. I also chopped up about 3 canned artichoke hearts, which I spread on the pizza along with the broccoli and arugula. And yeah yeah- I KNOW it was supposed to be “green” pizza, but I couldn’t resist adding some thinly sliced red onion to it as well. On top, I sprinkled about 100 grams (ca. 4 oz) of reduced fat mozzarella cheese.

I stuck the pizza at the bottom of my oven, which I had preheated to the highest temp it will go- about 250 C, or 482 F. It only took about 10 minutes and it was done. The cheese was brown, the edges crispy and the bottom browned, too.

I served it with a light salad of quartered cherry tomatoes and chopped cucumbers tossed with a little balsamic vinegar and seasoned with salt and cracked pepper.

So, lets see how that turned out as far as calories go

I started with 3 slices of that pizza, but ended up eating 4 because it was so freaking good… so

4 slices of “green” pizza, made with ww pizza dough, pesto and reduced fat cheese: 521

Cherry tomato and cucumber salad with balsamic dressing: 78 calories

Dinner Total: 599

Daily total: 1346

Its fairly late (for me) as I’m finishing this up, so I rounded off the evening with toast and honey, coming in then at a total of 1508 calories for the day. Not too shabby.

I hope everyone enjoyed the second installment of “What I Ate!”

Keep on the lookout for my new layout!

Tomorrow we’re having a low-cal mac and cheese, and I’m going to attempt to bake some delicious fruit and cereal bars for breakfasts or for after dinner dessert!

