Tags

,

Last night for dinner I made such a nice light pasta dish- was spagetti tossed with cooked onion and garlic, chickpeas, spinach and peppers- dressed with some olive oil and lemon juice. It was light and refreshing and practically fool-proof. Yngve, however, wasnt quite as pleased as I was. Not that he didnt like it- he thought it was quite good… what he said was “Jessica, didnt we have spagetti last night? All you like to eat are carbs! You need more protien in your diet.”

“No!” I gasped, taken aback. “I eat protien! Those were chickpeas in that there pasta dish! How dare anyone accuse me of eating too many carbs, my favorite foods have lots of protien in them! For instance I eat a lot of… hrmmm….” I knew I was grasping for straws. Yes indeed, my diet is an overload of carbs. A friggin regular carb smörgåsbord. People, I am a carb ahaolic. Give me pastas, breads, rice, potatoes- cooked any way, any how- I dont care, I like em. I could live out the rest of my life quite happily eating nothing but potatoes or rice.

I know its not healthy, so I suppose its time to chance before my behind gets any bigger than it already is! I think its equally unhealthy to cut carbs out of your life completely, but perhaps I can make some compromises and maybe only eat pasta once a week- and find some carb-alternative side dishes for dinners. We start on this…. NOW.

For dinner tonight I made chicken breast that I sauteed in a little olive oil in a pan- seasoned liberally with salt, pepper, and some garlic seaoning mix I got at the grocery store.

(Oh and I REALLY wish that this whole darkness thing would hurry up and get over itself- I’m having trouble taking attractive photos of my food in this artifical lighting!!!)

For sides, I made a salad out of vegetables, red beans and chickpeas seasoned with balsamic vinegar and extra virgin olive oil. I decided that was good enough to go here in the recipe file.

I also sauteed some baby spinanch in onion, garlic and a splash of balsamic vinegar.

All in all, it was really good and satisfying without the carb overload. I think the beans provide a textural similarity to carbs that comforts me while loading me up with more vitamins, minerals and protien.

So, we’ll see how this fewer-carbs experiment goes. Does anyone else out there who reads this have any ideas or recipes for low carb meals? I’d love to hear them!

On a side note, the snow and ice outside today looked exceptionally pretty. :)

