Well, its been a while, hasn’t it? My apologies to anyone who actually regularly reads, and enjoys, this blog- things got pretty crazy last fall, but it seems things are quite a bit less hectic and I can get back to my regular blogging schedule.

I spent the Christmas holidays at home, which was absolutely wonderful and entirely too short. I didn’t get the chance to spend nearly enough time with everyone I wanted to and I wasnt able to see everyone either. However, I’ll be making a trip back in May for my sisters graduation from nursing school, so hopefully I’ll be able to see anyone I missed then. Until that point, I’m back to the normal grind here on Stiklestadveien, which means knitting, spinning, cooking annnnnnnd baking.

I have two recipes to share which think are great- one for brownies and the other for carrot cake.

I’ve never been a huge fan of chocolate candies- some people I guess can revel in the flavor of a nice big bite of a dark chocolate bar or the luscious, creamy, melty goodness that comes from a Hershey’s kiss. For me, I want something more substantial- something warm and gooey AND chocolatey. In addition to this, when I want something chocolate I want it NOW. I don’t want to have to stand over a stove making a chocolate ganache or finding 50 ingredients for some fancy-pants gourmet brownie or cake. I want something that can be whipped together in less than 30 minutes.  So, I present to you a basic brownie recipe. This isnt fancy or frilly- it doesn’t come with a name like “death by chocolate” or “decadent brownies” or anything like that. These are just plain jane brownies, gooey and warm straight out of the oven, delicious with walnuts or without, and absolutely excellent with a cup of hot coffee.  The best thing about these suckers: you probably have EVERYTHING you need to make them in your kitchen right this second and they take all of 5 minutes to whip together, 20 minutes to bake in the oven- so in less than 30 minutes you have warm brownies to enjoy. If you can’t wait for chocolate before then, lick the bowl. :P Click here for my brownie recipe.

The next recipe is not my own, but one I found- I made it this afternoon to take to Yngves’ moms house for dinner tomorrow night. It is, quite possibly, the best carrot cake recipe I have ever tried. It is moist and sweet and superbly delicious. Click here for the recipe- I promise if you try it you wont try another. The only thing I did differently was instead of adding the pecans into the frosting, I chopped them and put them around the edge of the cake, like so:

So I think thats all for a first post of the new year. I have some fun and interesting things I’m planning on trying in the next few months- tune in to catch them. :)

