Tags

, ,

DSC01476

While it might not seem like it from my blog, I really don’t like baking THAT much. Ok, maybe thats a lie, I do like baking- when I don’t its because its just so… complicated. (to me, anyway)

I mean, with cooking you can just throw stuff together in any quantity until it tastes the way you want it to… if you screw it up, you just… call it something else!

Baking is so scientific… chemical reactions, exact measurements… bah. That doesnt lend itself to freestyle, inspired cooking! Or does it?

So this morning I was having a cup of coffee (strong, with lots of sugar and lots of milk, thanks.) and I started thinking about cookies. (I know, I have bizarre trains of thought)

I was thinking about how nice it would be to have a coffee flavored cookie- I was sure someone somewhere had the same idea as me, so I decided to cruise the net and see what I could come up with. I found a chocolate-cappucino cookie recipe that looked promising- but I can never leave anything as it is, so I changed it up a little bit. What I ended up with was an intensely flavored cookie, very sharp and almost bitter from the cocoa powder and coffee. It needed the sweet creamy element for it to be perfect, in my opinion. (remember… lots of milk and sugar in my coffee.) Soooo, I whipped up a sort of coffee buttercream icing to sandwich between two of the dark delicious disks (say that 3 times fast) to tie the two together. I’m (for now) calling them Cocoa Coffee Creams- I think I’m going to revisit this recipe again. Recipe is here.

DSC01467

