Tags

DSC01092

Waffles in Norway are a slightly different breed than those I’m used to at home. The ones from home are usually somewhat crispy on the outside and just a bit cakey in the inside- and the little grooves and dips are just perfect for soaking up syrup. mmmmm. Enter the norwegian waffle, a completely different little species in the waffle family. They are soft, not at all crispy and arent really considered a breakfast food so much. Instead, waffles can be eaten by themselves, smeared with butter sugar and cinnamon, or, my favorite, sour cream and jam or fresh fruit.

Yngve bought me a waffle iron not too long ago from which I’ve made waffles several times- but tonight I made some for dessert to have with some fresh blueberries picked at his moms cottage.

DSC01093

Since I learned how to make these from Yngve’s mother, I dont have a recipe- but I’d take any basic “American” waffle recipe, and alter it so it contains 3-4 eggs, at least 1/2- 3/4 cup of sugar and enough milk to make it into a pretty thin batter. Also, after you’ve made up the batter, cover it and let it rest for at least 30 minutes before making your waffles.

I served mine with fresh blueberries I had mashed up (maybe 1 1/2 cups worth), sprinkled with a tablespoon of sugar for extra sweetness. Leave that to sit for a little while as well so the sugar can draw out some of the juices in the berries. Spoon it over your waffles and add a nice dollop of sour cream on top. (Dont knock it until you’ve tried it, its sooooo yummy!)

Have it with a nice hot cup of tea and enjoy. :)

DSC01094

